Gluten Free Diet

Gluten-free diet is a treatment for celiac disease. Gluten causes inflammation in the small instances in people with celiac disease. Gluten can damage the lining of the small instances and can prevent nutrition absorption. Because of this people with celiac disease should intake gluten-free food.

Gluten Intolerance

Symptoms of celiac disease include diarrhea, anemia, abdominal pain, bloating and skin dermatitis. But celiac disease often has a few or no symptoms. Because of this a lot of people have not diagnosed celiac disease.

There are tests which confirm celiac disease. First step is a blood test which detects antibodies related to an abnormal immune response. If the test is positive, the second step is a biopsy which confirm inflammation in the lining in the small intens.

People with celiac disease should consult nutritionist which will help to have proper and balanced diet rich in necessary nutrients.

Some people may be sensitive on gluten but do not have celiac disease. They have gastrointestinal symptoms, fatigue and headaches. This people may have a diet with less gluten.

Some people use gluten-free diet without getting a test. They think that gluten-free diet is healthy and may use everyone.This is a biggest mistake.

Gluten-free diet excludes protein gluten, found in food like: wheat, barley, rye. People that use gluten-free diet must be careful with food choices. Improperly chosen food can lead to vitamin and mineral deficiency. Today you can find a lot of gluten-free products, fortified in nutrients.

Allowed food: Fresh fish, meat and poultry (not marinated), seeds and nuts, vegetables, fruits, gluten-free flours (corn, soy, rice, potato), corn and cornmeal, quinoa, hominy, rice, soy, sorghum, flax, teff, millet, beans, buckwheat, amaranth, arrowroot.

Avoid: Wheat, oats, rye, barley, white flour, durum flour, graham flour, semolina, bulgur, spelt, kamut, farina.

People with celiac disease must avoid products like: cereals, croutons, pasta, pies, cakes, cookies, candies, crackers, french fries, dressings and sauces, beer, breads (except gluten-free flours – corn, soy, rice, potato), imitation of meat or seafood.

When choosing food, read the label. Choose gluten-free food.


Cross contamination

Cross contamination occurs when gluten-free products come into contact with food that contain gluten. Some food labels include a “may contain” statement. This is because in the manufacturing process, the same equipment is used to make a variety of products.

Some companies use gluten as a binding agent, especially in pharmacy or in some products that contain additives.


Other names of gluten

Gluten can be hidden in many different food additives without necessary being label. Following ingredients may contain some gluten:

  • natural flavor
  • mono-sodium glutamate
  • lecithins
  • hydrolyzed vegetable protein
  • hydrolyzed plant protein
  • textured vegetable protein
  • emulsifiers
  • maltodextrin
  • caramel color